Congratulations to the 2022 USJE Scholarship Winners

USJE is pleased to announce the recipients of the USJE Scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year. Each student will receive $2,500 to go towards their post-secondary education.

Louise Pargeter Scholarship (2)
Kristine Bawol of Edmonton, AB
Kayla Szlovicsak of Vancouver, BC

Lynn Ray National Scholarship
Leslie Williams of Prince Albert, SK

Paul Gascon Scholarship
Antonie Zuniga of Chilliwack, BC

Diane Leduc-Doran Scholarship
Matthew Elliott of Morden, MB

Danielle Belleau Scholarship
Allen Cromarty of Orleans, ON

Scholarship applicants submitted an 800-word essay answering the question:  You graduate from college/university and your first job out of school is not unionized. What factors will you consider before deciding whether or not to organize a vote to be certified as a union?

Members in good standing were eligible to apply for the scholarships, and the spouses, partners and dependents of members in good standing were eligible to apply for the Louise Pargeter, Lynn Ray, and Diane Leduc-Doran scholarships. All identifying information was removed from the applications during the selection process to ensure impartiality.

PSAC Scholarship Program is still accepting applications for its 2022 program of 19 scholarships. The deadline is June 24, 2022, at 11:55 p.m. EDT. PSAC scholarships are awarded based on the merit of a 750–850-word essay, YouTube video, infographic, song or other creative submission answering the current scholarship question about systemic inequities exposed by the pandemic.

USJE Scholarships are given out annually. To find out about when the application process starts for the 2023 scholarships, sign up to our newsletter. For all the news from USJE National Office, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

USJE thanks all of this year’s applicants for their submissions and congratulates our winners.